Monday, January 27, 2014

Genre Definition and Recommendation #50



Welcome to my new feature. I will feature a Genre with a definition with a sub genre definition and my recommendations. 


Science Fiction - Definition found on Wikipedia



Science Fiction- is a genre of fiction dealing with imaginary but more or less plausible (or at least non-supernatural) content such as future settings, futuristic science and technology, space travel, aliens, and paranormal abilities. 


Dystopian- Definition found on Wikipedia 

Dystopian- the idea of a society in a repressive and controlled state, often under the guise of being utopian.



My Recommendations: 

     
Perfect Ruin (Internment Chronicles, #1)
Perfect Ruin by Lauren Destefano


        
On Internment, the floating island in the clouds where 16-year-old Morgan Stockhour lives, getting too close to the edge can lead to madness. Even though Morgan's older brother, Lex, was a Jumper, Morgan vows never to end up like him. She tries her best not to mind that her life is orderly and boring, and if she ever wonders about the ground, and why it is forbidden, she takes solace in best friend Pen and her betrothed, Basil.

Then a murder, the first in a generation, rocks the city. With whispers swirling and fear on the wind, Morgan can no longer stop herself from investigating, especially when she meets Judas. He is the boy being blamed for the murder — betrothed to the victim — but Morgan is convinced of his innocence. Secrets lay at the heart of Internment, but nothing can prepare Morgan for what she will find — or who she will lose.




Breathe (Breathe, #1)

        Breathe by Sarah Crossan


The world has no air. If you want to survive, you pay to breathe. But what if you can't? And what if you think everything could be different? Three teens will leave everything they know behind in Sarah Crossan's gripping and original dystopian teen novel of danger, longing, and glimmering hope that will appeal to fans of Patrick Ness and Veronica Roth.

Ever since the Switch, when the oxygen levels plummeted and most of humanity died, the survivors have been protected in glass domes full of manufactured air. Protected . . . or trapped? Or controlled? Alina's a revolutionary who believes we can save the environment. Quinn's a Premium who's never had to worry about having enough air. His best friend, Bea, is an Auxiliary who's never worried about anything but having enough air. When the three cross paths, they will change everything. Sarah Crossan's thrilling and provocative novel is about passion, about yearning for something better, and about breaking free for the very first time.

5 comments:

  1. Haha I feel so silly. I've read some dystopian books but I didn't know what 'dystopian' meant. The books I read were sci-fi futuristic, so I thought oh it's about the science of the future. Gaaah I feel so silly!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I've heard really good things about both of these books, but haven't managed to get to them yet. Now I'll definitely bump them up on my TBR list!

    Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction

    ReplyDelete
  3. Oooh, I just bought Perfect Ruin last week. Can't wait to read it. :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. I just bought Breathe and am excited to read it!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I really want to give Breathe a try! I was impressed by how much I liked Perfect Ruin. Even though I gave it a 3 it was on the high end of a 3 and only bc I felt it was more of an introduction. The whole world and the way it ended made me crave book 2 right away!

    ReplyDelete

 
Imagination Designs