Friday, May 27, 2016

It's a Giveaway: Splash Into Summer Giveaway Hop

splash into summer

Giveaway is for hardcover copy of Summer of Sloane by Erin L. Schneider


Summer of Sloane
Summer of Sloan by Erin L. Schneider

Warm Hawaiian sun. Lazy beach days. Flirty texts with her boyfriend back in Seattle.

These are the things seventeen-year-old Sloane McIntyre pictured when she imagined the summer she’d be spending at her mom’s home in Hawaii with her twin brother, Penn. Instead, after learning an unthinkable secret about her boyfriend, Tyler, and best friend, Mick, all she has is a fractured hand and a completely shattered heart.

Once she arrives in Honolulu, though, Sloane hopes that Hawaii might just be the escape she needs. With beach bonfires, old friends, exotic food, and the wonders of a waterproof cast, there’s no reason Sloane shouldn’t enjoy her summer. And when she meets Finn McAllister, the handsome son of a hotel magnate who doesn’t always play by the rules, she knows he’s the perfect distraction from everything that’s so wrong back home.

But it turns out a measly ocean isn’t nearly enough to stop all the emails, texts, and voicemails from her ex-boyfriend and ex-best friend, desperate to explain away their betrayal. And as her casual connection with Finn grows deeper, Sloane’s carefree summer might not be as easy to find as she’d hoped. Weighing years of history with Mick and Tyler against their deception, and the delicate possibility of new love, Sloane must decide when to forgive, and when to live for herself.



a Rafflecopter giveaway
Powered by Linky Tools
Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list...

Delightful Discoveries




Delightful Discoveries are books that I have discovered recently... old, new, just released... from blogs, Goodreads, libraries, friends, or bookstores. 






The Stranger Game
The Stranger Game by Cylin Busby



The Stranger Game is a dark, suspenseful, and twisty young adult novel—perfect for fans of Lauren Oliver and E. Lockhart—about fifteen-year-old Nico Walker, whose sister returns home after a four-year disappearance.

When Nico Walker's older sister mysteriously disappears, her parents, family, and friends are devastated. But Nico can never admit what she herself feels: relief at finally being free of Sarah's daily cruelties.

Then the best and worst thing happens: four years later, after dozens of false leads, Sarah is found.

But this girl is much changed from the one Nico knew. She's thin and drawn, where Sarah had been golden and athletic; timid and unsure, instead of brash and competitive; and strangest of all, sweet and kind, when she had once been mean and abusive. Sarah's retrograde amnesia has caused her to forget almost everything about her life, from small things like the plots of her favorite books and her tennis game to the more critical—where she's been the last four years and what happened at the park on the fateful day she vanished. Despite the happy ending, the dark details of that day continue to haunt Nico, and it becomes clear that more than one person knows the true story of what happened to Sarah. . . .






London Belongs to Us
London Belongs To US by Sarra Manning
 
Seventeen-year-old Sunny's always been a little bit of a pushover. But when she's sent a picture of her boyfriend kissing another girl, she knows she's got to act. What follows is a mad, twelve-hour dash around London - starting at 8pm in Crystal Palace (so far away from civilisation you can't even get the Tube there) then sweeping through Camden, Shoreditch, Soho, Kensington, Notting Hill . . . and ending up at 8am in Alexandra Palace.

Along the way Sunny meets a whole host of characters she never dreamed she'd have anything in common with - least of all the devilishly handsome (and somewhat vain) French 'twins' (they're really cousins) Jean Luc and Vic. But as this love-letter to London shows, a city is only a sum of its parts, and really it's the people living there who make up its life and soul. And, as Sunny discovers, everyone - from friends, apparent-enemies, famous bands and even rickshaw drivers - is willing to help a girl on a mission to get her romantic retribution.








The Queen of Blood  (The Queens of Renthia, #1)
The Queen of Blood by Sarah Beth Durst



   
An idealistic young student and a banished warrior become allies in a battle to save their realm in this first book of a mesmerizing epic fantasy series, filled with political intrigue, violent magic, malevolent spirits, and thrilling adventure

Everything has a spirit: the willow tree with leaves that kiss the pond, the stream that feeds the river, the wind that exhales fresh snow . . .

But the spirits that reside within this land want to rid it of all humans. One woman stands between these malevolent spirits and the end of humankind: the queen. She alone has the magical power to prevent the spirits from destroying every man, woman, and child. But queens are still just human, and no matter how strong or good, the threat of danger always looms.

With the position so precarious, young women are chosen to train as heirs. Daleina, a seemingly quiet academy student, is under no illusions as to her claim to the throne, but simply wants to right the wrongs that have befallen the land. Ven, a disgraced champion, has spent his exile secretly fighting against the growing number of spirit attacks. Joining forces, these daring partners embark on a treacherous quest to find the source of the spirits’ restlessness—a journey that will test their courage and trust, and force them to stand against both enemies and friends to save their land . . . before it’s bathed in blood.



Broken Fate
Broken Fate by Jennifer Derrick 


Zeus gave her one simple job: Kill every human. Atropos-daughter of Zeus and the third goddess of Fate from Greek mythology -spends her eternal life snipping human lifelines when their mortal lives are over. As if being a killer doesn't make life miserable enough, she and her Fate-wielding sisters must live amongst the humans on Earth thanks to a long-running feud between their mother and Zeus. Living on Earth means they must mingle with the mortals, attend the local high school, and attempt to fit in-or at least not stand out too much.
Killing and mingling don't mix, which is why Atropos' number-one rule is to avoid all relationships with the humans. Caring for the people she has to kill is a fast track to insanity. However, when Alex Morgan walks into her first-period English class, she knows she's in for trouble. He's the worst kind of human for her to like-one with a rapidly approaching expiration date. And he makes Atropos want to break all the rules.



Scythe
Scythe by Neal Shusterman

Two teens are forced to murder—maybe each other—in the first in a chilling new series from Neal Shusterman, author of theNew York Times bestselling Unwind dystology.

In a world where disease has been eliminated, the only way to die is to be randomly killed (“gleaned”) by professional reapers (“scythes”). Citra and Rowan are teenagers who have been selected to be scythe’s apprentices, and—despite wanting nothing to do with the vocation—they must learn the art of killing and come to understand the necessity of what they do.

Only one of them will be chosen as a scythe’s apprentice. And when it becomes clear that the winning apprentice’s first task will be to glean the loser, Citra and Rowan are pitted against one another in a fight for their lives.




Thursday, May 26, 2016

Cover Up: Arc Vs. Official



With this cover up I am going to compare the ARC cover of Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco to the one that is on Goodreads. I don't know if it's the actual cover, but it's the one on Displaying IMG_1956.JPGgoodreads so..

Displaying IMG_1956.JPGDisplaying IMG_1956.JPG
Displaying IMG_1956.JPG

Here's the ARC version, the one I got from BEA. And this cover is great. It's got great colors and it's pretty awesome right

Well here's the one on goodreads 

28962906

Yeah look at that awesome cover. So bright, so elegant, so pretty. I love the deep green colors and the dress is great. I like the knife better in this one as well.

So which is your favorite cover?




Wednesday, May 25, 2016

Wee Reads: Champion Monsters by Lindsey Womack

Ever since Finn was born, and even before then, we would read to him. We wanted to show him reading from an early age. Now he loves us to read the same books, over, and over, and over. But it is the sweetest thing, when he likes to pick out a book and climb into our laps. 





What Finn Reads....  

Champion Monsters
Champion Monsters by Lindsey Womack
  


Champion Monsters is a fun, wonderfully illustrated book written for ages 2-7 to help children cope with all difficult situations. The book is accompanied by a lovable stuffed monster companion, who will be by a child's side through anything they may encounter.



What Finn Thinks...

Finn absolutely adores this book. He has read it with us so many times already. He especially loves the page with the dinosaur. He has taken his champion monster everywhere with him. He named him "Paw" But most of the time he just calls him "Rawr"

The book is very colorful and the artwork is just amazing. The story is really cute and talks about strength and courage. Its a great book for young ones and possibly the not so young ones.








Champion Monsters is Lindsey Womack’s debut picture book and debut project for Champion Monster Projects. The story was developed from many years of trying to comfort her own children’s fears, realizing the many difficult situations children face, and wanting to help children and parents in coping with those difficult periods. The Champion Monsters book and monster dolls are designed as a tool for helping ease children’s fears and provide additional comfort in all situations.
Lindsey has a Bachelor’s degree from Augustana College and spends all of her free time with family and friends. When not busy with her husband, Jeremy and their four children, Jillian, Jocelyn, Jack, and James, Lindsey writes and develops fun and helpful tools for children of all ages.


     

Waiting on Wednesday: Vicarious by Paula Stokes


Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.


I Can't wait for:



Vicarious (Vicarious, #1)
Vicarious by Paula Stokes 
August 6th 2016
                 
Winter Kim and her sister, Rose, have always been inseparable. Together, the two of them survived growing up in a Korean orphanage and being trafficked into the United States. 

Now they work as digital stunt girls for Rose’s ex-boyfriend, Gideon, engaging in dangerous and enticing activities while recording their neural impulses for his Vicarious Sensory Experiences, or ViSEs. Whether it’s bungee jumping, shark diving, or grinding up against celebrities at the city’s hottest dance clubs, Gideon can make it happen for you, for a price.

When Rose disappears and a ViSE recording of her murder is delivered to Gideon, Winter won’t rest until she finds her sister’s killer. But when the clues she uncovers conflict with the neural recordings her sister made, Winter isn’t sure what to believe. To find out what happened to Rose, she’ll have to untangle what’s real from what only seems real, risking her life in the process.

This sounds so good and so different from what is out there. I am very excited. I loved Liars Inc. and so I think I will enjoy another book by this author.
 
Imagination Designs