Thursday, October 17, 2013

Review: Breathe by Sarah Crossan

Breathe (Breathe, #1)Title:  Breathe
Author: Sarah Crossan
Publisher:  Greenwillow

Publishing Date: October 2nd 2012
Pages: 384
Genre:  YA Post-Apocalyptic/Dystopian
Series: Breathe #1

Source: Hardcover


The world has no air. If you want to survive, you pay to breathe. But what if you can't? And what if you think everything could be different? Three teens will leave everything they know behind in Sarah Crossan's gripping and original dystopian teen novel of danger, longing, and glimmering hope that will appeal to fans of Patrick Ness and Veronica Roth.

Ever since the Switch, when the oxygen levels plummeted and most of humanity died, the survivors have been protected in glass domes full of manufactured air. Protected . . . or trapped? Or controlled? Alina's a revolutionary who believes we can save the environment. Quinn's a Premium who's never had to worry about having enough air. His best friend, Bea, is an Auxiliary who's never worried about anything but having enough air. When the three cross paths, they will change everything. Sarah Crossan's thrilling and provocative novel is about passion, about yearning for something better, and about breaking free for the very first time.

Another book I waited forever to read. I received this book last year for Christmas and just now found space and time to read the book. It was really pretty awesome of a read. I will not wait so long for the second book. I loved the story, the characters, and the premise. A dystopian book with more of a post apocalyptic feel. It was a very fast paced read and I loved it all, beginning, middle, and end.

Fast forward to the future. People live in pods, where oxygen is fed to them and limited. If you want more than what is allotted you have to pay for it. People don’t exercise in any form, making out is a treat, and make sure you breath slowly all the time. The trees are gone, the soil can no longer grow them, air outside the pod will kill you in moments. Bea and Quinn decide to take a camping trip (with oxygen tanks) outside the pod on their break from school. Doesn’t seem fun to me but to people who live in the pod, this is quite exciting. On their way out of the pod they run into Alina, a girl their age who is on the run from those in charge. She is considered a terrorist

There was so much good in this book. To start with the premise and the plot throughout the book was just solid. I have read so many post apocalyptic books and dystopian books, to have one that is different and stand out is hard for me to find. I felt the book brought something new to post-apocalyptic/dystopian book genre. The idea of no more trees is not only scary but realistic and tragic. The book brought to light what life would be without trees and it was for sure scary. Living in a pod, limited oxygen, and everything controlled. Yup so scary, and that was just the beginning. There was so much more to the story and it really did gulp me up into another place and time and kept me holding my breath page after page.

I really loved the main characters. They all had their flaws but they were all fairly strong, independent, and intelligent people. There are three main characters and three points of views. I loved them all. Even though they complimented each other very well they were very strong on their own too. 

I will start with Bea. She was my favorite. Bea was you’re average teenager. Smart in school, lived with her parents, worked hard, loved a boy, and was pretty invisible to everyone but those who mattered. She was from the poor part of town, the ones that struggled with the free amount oxygen given just to live off of. She wasn’t one that was able to do anything that would cause a need for more than the government allotted amount of oxygnen. 
 She was a wonderful student and worked hard to insure her place in the future. She wanted nothing more than to give her parents a better life… and of course to get the boy of her dreams and  best friend to notice her. She was a bit hard on herself at times and it started to edge into whining but everything she thought and felt made her more real.

Quinn, Bea’s best friend was the spoiled rich kid but one with a heart of gold. Well maybe not gold but he was a sweetheart even if a little misguided. He worked hard in school because it was expected of him, but unlike Bea, he didn’t strive to for his own reasons. He was expected to follow his father’s footsteps into leadership in the pod. He really didn’t want it and knew how much Bea wanted it. He would have gladly give it up for her if it was his choice.

Alina, the rebel, part of the resistance. She knew what she believed in, thought she knew the truth behind the pod, and was very resilient. She has a mission and she was bound and determined to carry it out, no matter what. She never expected to come upon to campers that would help her out, save her life, than become part of her life, but they did. Alina was a real fighter, loyal, and strong willed. Loved her character too.

The love story was sweet, well built, and swoon worthy. There were some definite bumps in the road but it was build on a solid foundation and I can't wait to see the relationship grow and withstand new obstacles in the next book. 

The characters and plot wasn’t the only superb thing in this book. The writing was awesome and the pacing was just right. I had no trouble at all getting through the book and the amount of explanation and descriptions was a perfect balance to get the point across without boring. It was pretty nonstop from beginning to end but still had lots of time to get to know and fall in love with the characters. 

This was a great story of survival, truth, and the moment when one must decided which side to be on when neither one is perfect. Self discovery, love, and friendship, the journey all three of our characters traveled. 

It was a great read and I am dying to read more… good thing I have Resist just awaiting on my shelf!


  1. This sounds really good... And I don't usually read dystopian, but like you said it has more of an apocalyptic feel so maybe that's what is attracting me. Cool review, it's the first I've read for this and it definitely got me interested!

  2. Are you going to start the second book soon? I'm jealous if you do - I had to wait what a year or so between the second/final book. It made me enjoy it less I think.


Imagination Designs